Paleo Mexican Pizza

The husband and I just got back from a trip to San Francisco. We had a fantastic time eating and drinking. Believe it or not, towards the end of the trip, I started missing fruits and veggies! We had so many sandwiches, burgers, fries, drinks, that I just needed a break!

On the way home I made the husband stop off at the grocery store to pick up some fresh fruits and veggies. I need to get home (after a 5 hour flight and 2 hour commute) and juice! I came home and made an Orange, Apple, and Ginger Juice and a Green Citrus Monster. I’ve been drinking a glass of each every day and feel oh-so-healthy.

Dinner has been pretty healthy too since our return. We’ve been trying to go Paleo, but mainly just eating more fruits and veggies and less carbs. So, for dinner tonight, I browsed the great internet looking for yummy recipes. I found recipes for Paleo pizza, but most of them had beef crusts. Wanting something vegetarian, I kept hunting. Then I came across a Black Bean Crust Pizza – perfect! I was craving Mexican food, so I was going to make mine a Mexican style crust, rather than the Italian seasoned version in the recipe.

Black Bean Crust Mexican Pizza

Makes 1 thin 10″ pizza for 1 to 2 people
Ingredients
1 can Pinto Beans, rinsed & drained
1 tsp Fiesta Dip Seasoning
1 tsp Garlic Power
1 tsp Taco Seasoning
1 tsp Red Pepper flakes
2 Garlic Cloves
1 Egg
1 tsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
 Toppings
2-3 tbsp Enchilada Sauce
2 tbsp Taco Cheese
2 tbsp Green Onions
5-6 Olives chopped
 Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a pizza pan with parchment paper or aluminum foil. Set aside.

20130927_172523

Gather all the ingredients above and blend together until a smooth, creamy mixture is made.

20130927_173707

Scoop the mixture into the lined / prepared pan. Spread into a 10″ circle.

Bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. Remove from heat when the edges look dry.

20130927_175424

Gather your toppings.

20130927_175455

Add the enchilada sauce, cheese, green onions, and olives. Bake for another 5 minutes or until the cheese is melted.

20130927_180329

Serve warm with Avocado Margarita (Recipe to come tomorrow!)

20130927_181417

Watch your husband eat the whole thing in less time than it took to make! ;)

20130927_182404

We ended up eating the pizza with forks because my crust was too creamy. I did add a little water while blending the crust together and I guess that made it a bit too creamy. Don’t be me and have some patience and let it combine naturally! The hubby and I were completely full after eating the pie. It’s a great quick meal and you could easily change up the toppings. I’ll definitely be making it again, especially with the Avocado Margarita!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Paleo Mexican Pizza

Leave a Reply

